CEU Reporting

  • In order to remain certified, NSCA Certification requires that each Certified Strength and Conditioning Specialist (CSCS®), Certified Special Population Specialist (CSPS™), NSCA-Certified Personal Trainer (NSCA-CPT®), and Tactical Strenth and Conditioning Facilitator (TSAC-F™) maintain a current CPR certification and complete Continuing Education Units (CEU) requirements. The purpose of continuing education is to encourage certified individuals to stay current of evolving knowledge and skills in the profession, and promote the ongoing competency of those certified.

    What is Recertified with Distinction (*D)?

    Recertification with Distinction is a recognition program that honors certified professionals who have shown exemplary involvement in the NSCA. This is a select group of certified individuals who have met a high standard for continuing education and are acknowledged for their significant role and participation in the NSCA and the strength and conditioning and personal training professions.

    What are the benefits?

    The Recertified with Distinction program benefits those who qualify by enhancing their professional status and by providing several forms of public recognition including: 

    A specially designed certificate honoring the accomplishment.

    The right to use the trademark protected “*D” as an extension of their CSCS, CSPS, NSCA-CPT, and TSAC-F credential(s).

    Special notation on NSCA conference badges.

    What are the requirements?

    To qualify for being Recertified with Distinction, a certified professional must meet the minimum recertification requirements established by the NSCA for the current recertification period.

    Acquire a total of 10.0 CEUs in activities sponsored by the NSCA (the requirements are not prorated for those certified after January 2015 and CEU category maximum rules do not apply). Note that the CEU requirement increases for professionals who have multiple credentials and wish to receive the Recertified with Distinction status for more than one credential.

    What CEU activities qualify toward becoming Recertified with Distinction?

    Examples of the CEUs earned from the following activities that can be applied toward the Recertified with Distinction include:

    Attending an NSCA clinic, conference or symposium

    Presenting at an NSCA clinic, conference or symposium

    Authoring an article for an NSCA publication

    Serving on an NSCA committee or board

    Passing an NSCA CEU Quiz

    Earning an additional NSCA certification

    How do I become Recertified with Distinction?

    Once certified individuals have met the requirements to become recertified, any additional qualifying CEUs will be credited toward becoming Recertified with Distinction. Once you have completed the required amount of CEUs for becoming Recertified with Distinction, you will be given the option to complete the Recertification with Distinction process by submitting the corresponding fee.

    Note that the Recertified with Distinction application does not replace the standard CEU reporting submission. Both submissions must be completed within the reporting period, and both fees must be paid. The standard CEU reporting must be submitted first.