Annual Awards

Sports Medicine/Rehabilitation Specialist

This award is given to an athletic trainer whose work and contributions have significantly impacted the field of Sports Medicine or Rehabilitation for athletes.

Award Nominations closed March 16.

Nominations are accepted online between March 1-15 of each year for the High School Strength and Conditioning Coach of the Year, William J. Kraemer Outstanding Sport Scientist, Sports Medicine/Rehabilitation Specialist, Personal Trainer, Nutritional Research, Educator of the Year and Terry J. Housh Young Investigator award. Voting will be online between May 1-15. These awards are presented at the July National Conference.

Nominations are accepted online between September 1-15 of each year for the Professional, College and College Assistant Strength and Conditioning Coach of the Year Awards. Note: Nominees must hold the RSCC distinction. Voting will be online between November 1-15. These awards are presented at the January Coaches Conference. 

Congratulations to our 2013 Winner, Terry Grindstaff, PhD, PT, ATC, SCS, CSCS,*D!

Terry Grindstaff

Past Award Recipients Include:

2012 - John P. McCarthy, PhD, CSCS,*D, FNSCA

2011 - Greg Myer, PhD, CSCS

2010 - Scott E. Lawrance, CSCS

2009 - Danny McMillian, DPT, CSCS

2008 - Jaynie Bjornaraa, PhD, MPH, PT, CSCS,*D

2007 - Dan Wathen, CSCS,*D, NSCA-CPT,*D, FNSCA

2005 - David Potach, CSCS,*D, NSCA-CPT,*D

2004 - Jeff Falkel, CSCS,*D

2003 - Todd Ellenbecker, CSCS

2002 - Jeff Fahrenbruch, MPT, CSCS,*D

2001 - Donald Chu, PhD

Copyright (c) 1999-2012 National Strength and Conditioning Association. Use with permission. All rights reserved. 

Contact Us

1885 Bob Johnson Drive
Colorado Springs, CO 80906

Hours: 8-5 pm

Phone Numbers

Toll-Free: (800) 815-6826 
Phone: (719) 632-6722
Fax: (719) 632-6367  


Get Directions 


National Headquarters

NSCA Board of Directors 


Additional email address: