Annual Awards

Terry J. Housh Outstanding Young Investigator Award

This award is given to a researcher who has been in the field for seven years or less, in recognition of his or her noteworthy contributions to the field of applied exercise and sport science. The Terry J. Housh Outstanding Young Investigator Award is sponsored by GNC.

Online nominations for the Terry J. Housh Outstanding Young Investigator Award are open March 1 through March 15 of each year.


Congratulations to our 2014 Winner, Sophia Nimphius, PhD, CSCS*D


Past Award Recipients Include:

2013 - Jacob Wilson, PhD, CSCS,*D

2012 - Del Pui-Lam Wong, DPhil, CSCS,*D

2011 - Eric D. Ryan, PhD, CSCS, NSCA-CPT

2010 - Brian Schilling, PhD, CSCS, FNSCA and Moh H. Malek, PhD, CSCS,*D, NSCA-CPT,*D, FNSCA

2009 - Jared W. Coburn, PhD, CSCS,*D, FNSCA and Travis Beck, PhD

2008 - William P. Ebben, PhD, CSCS,*D and Matthew R. Rhea, PhD, CSCS

2007 - Mike R. McGuigan, PhD, CSCS,*D, FNSCA

2006 - Jeffrey M. McBride, PhD, CSCS

2005 - Nicholas A. Ratamess Jr., PhD, CSCS and Joel T. Cramer, CSCS,*D, NSCA-CPT,*D

2004 - Jeff S. Volek, PhD, RD

2003 - Lee Brown, EdD, CSCS,*D

2002 - Tammy K. Evetovich, PhD

2001 - G. Gregory Haff, Jeffrey R. Stout, PhD and Lymperis P. Koziris

2000 - Joseph P. Weir, Jay R. Hoffman, and Travis Triplett-McBride

1999 - Avery Faigenbaum, PhD

1998 - Andrew Fry, PhD, CSCS

Copyright (c) 1999-2012 National Strength and Conditioning Association. Use with permission. All rights reserved. 

Contact Us

1885 Bob Johnson Drive
Colorado Springs, CO 80906

Hours: 8-5 pm

Phone Numbers

Toll-Free: (800) 815-6826 
Phone: (719) 632-6722
Fax: (719) 632-6367  

Get Directions


National Headquarters
Additional email address: