Annual Awards

William J. Kraemer Outstanding Sport Scientist Award

Recipients of the William J. Kraemer Outstanding Sport Scientist Award are recognized for exemplary contributions and breakthroughs in the field of applied exercise and sport science. Dr. Kraemer’s desire was to demonstrate to the world that the NSCA was not only an organization for high-level strength and conditioning coaches, but also one through which the science of strength and conditioning contributes to the fields that utilize strength and conditioning practices. Dr. Bill Kraemer is a well-respected sports scientist whose impact on the NSCA is unmatched.

Online nominations for the William J. Kraemer Outstanding Sport Scientist Award are open March 1 through March 15 of each year.

Congratulations to our 2014 Winner, David Behm!


Past Award Recipients Include: 

2013 - Jeffrey Stout, PhD, FNSCA, FACSM

2012 - Jeffrey M. McBride, PhD, CSCS, FNSCA

2011 - G. Gregory Haff, PhD, CSCS,*D, FNSCA

2010 - N. Travis Triplett, PhD, CSCS,*D, FNSCA

2009 - Lee E. Brown, EdD, CSCS,*D, FNSCA

2008 - Joan M. Eckerson, PhD, CSCS

2007 - Jay R. Hoffman, PhD, CSCS,*D, FNSCA

2006 - Joseph P. Weir, PhD

2005 - Andrew C. Fry, PhD, CSCS

2004 - Robert U. Newton, PhD, CSCS

2003 - Lawrence Weiss, EdD, CSCS,*D

2002 - Michael Bemben, PhD

2001 - Jerry Mayhew, PhD

2000 - Stephen E. Alway, PhD

1999 - Carl M. Maresh, PhD

1998 - Terry Housh, PhD, FNSCA

1997 - Robert S. Staron, PhD

1996 - Gary Dudley, PhD, CSCS

1995 - Everett Harman, PhD, CSCS, NSCA-CPT

1994 - Gary Hunter, PhD

1993 - John Garhammer, PhD, CSCS, NSCA-CPT

1992 - William Kraemer, PhD, CSCS 

1991 - Steve Fleck, PhD and Mike Stone, PhD

Copyright (c) 1999-2012 National Strength and Conditioning Association. Use with permission. All rights reserved. 

Contact Us

1885 Bob Johnson Drive
Colorado Springs, CO 80906

Hours: 8-5 pm

Phone Numbers

Toll-Free: (800) 815-6826 
Phone: (719) 632-6722
Fax: (719) 632-6367  

Get Directions


National Headquarters
Additional email address: