• College Strength and Conditioning Coach of the Year Award
    The College Strength and Conditioning Coach of the Year Award is given to an outstanding Certified Strength and Conditioning Specialist® (CSCS) to recognize their dedication to improving athletic performance with safe and effective science-based programs.
  • Nominations for the College Strength and Conditioning Coach of the Year Award are open online from September 1 to September 15 of every year. The award is presented annually at the January Coaches Conference. The College Strength and Conditioning Coach of the Year Award is sponsored by EAS Sports Nutrition.

    Congratulations to our 2015 Winner, Douglas Smith, MS, CSCS,*D, NSCA-CPT, USAW, RSCC*E with Juniata College!

    Beyond holding their current CSCS certification, nominees must be current members of the NSCA for two consecutive years, and a Division I, II, III or NAIA Head/Director of Strength and Conditioning. Nominees must also hold the Registered Strength and Conditioning Coach (RSCC) distinction. All nominees must also qualify using an evaluation criteria format.

    Past Award Recipients Include:

    2014 - Shannon Turley, CSCS, RSCC, Stanford University

    2013 - Andrea Hudy, CSCS, RSCC*D, University of Kansas

    2012 - Michael W. Favre, MEd, CSCS,*D, RSCC*D, University of Michigan 

    2011 - No award given

    2010 - Jonathan Jost, CSCS, RSCC*E, Florida State University

    2009 - Jeff Reinardy, CSCS, Winona State University

    2008 - Sara L. Wiley, MS, CSCS, University of Minnesota at Twin Cities

    2007 - Michael Rankin, CSCS, NSCA-CPT, Drexel University

    2006 - Robert dos Remedios, MA, CSCS, College of the Canyons

    2005 - Michael Doscher, CSCS, Valdosta State University

    2004 - Gerard J. Martin, CSCS,*D, University of Connecticut

    2003 - Allen Hedrick, CSCS, Air Force Academy

    2002 - Joseph Kenn, CSCS,*D, Arizona State University

    2001 - John Taylor, CSCS,*D, New Mexico State University

    2000 - Roger Marandino, CSCS, Brown University

    1999 - Jim Kramer, University of Northern Iowa

    1998 - Tony Decker, University of Delaware

    1997 - Dwight Daub, University of Utah

    1995 - Steven Scott Plisk, James Madison University

    1994 - Tom Cross, University of Oklahoma

    1993 - Michael J. Clark, Texas A&M University

    1992 - Rick Huegli, Jr, MEd, CSCS, University of Washington

    1991 - Steve Bliss, MEd, CSCS, RSCC, North Dakota State University

    1990 - John Garhammer, PhD, CSCS, NSCA- CPT, FNSCA, California State University at Long Beach

    1989 - Dan Wathen, CSCS,*D, NSCA-CPT*D, FNSCA Youngstown State University

    1988 - Bill Allerheiligen, MS, CSCS,*D, NSCA-CPT*D, FNSCA University of Wyoming

    1987 - Doug Semenick, University of Louisville

    1986 - Bruno Pauletto, CSCS, FNSCA, University of Tennessee

    1985 - John Gamble, University of Virginia

    1984 - Thomas Baechle, EdD, CSCS,*D, NSCA-CPT*D, Creighton University

    1983 - Bill Dunn, University of Virginia

    1982 - George Dostal, Clemson University

    1981 - Keith Kephart, University of Kansas

    1980 - Boyd Epley, MEd, CSCS,*D, FNSCA, RSCC*E, University of Nebraska