Annual Awards

College Strength and Conditioning Coach of the Year

The College Strength and Conditioning Coach of the Year Award is given to a Certified Strength and Conditioning Specialist (CSCS) with RSCC distinction, for his or her dedication to improving the performance of athletes with safe and effective science-based programs. Beyond holding their current CSCS certification, nominees must be current members of the NSCA for two consecutive years, and a Division I, II, III or NAIA Head/Director of Strength and Conditioning. All nominees must also qualify using an evaluation criteria format.



Know of a deserving individual? Award Nominations are September 1-15.

Nominations are accepted online between March 1-15 of each year for the High School Strength and Conditioning Coach of the Year, William J. Kraemer Outstanding Sport Scientist, Sports Medicine/Rehabilitation Specialist, Personal Trainer, Nutritional Research, Educator of the Year and Terry J. Housh Young Investigator award. Voting will be online between May 1-15. These awards are presented at the July National Conference.

Nominations are accepted online between September 1-15 of each year for the Professional, College and College Assistant Strength and Conditioning Coach of the Year Awards. Note: Nominees must hold the RSCC distinction. Voting will be online between November 1-15. These awards are presented at the January Coaches Conference.

Shannon TurleyCongratulations to our 2013 Winner, Shannon Turley, CSCS, RSCC, Stanford University!

Want to learn more about Coach Turley and his work with Stanford? Check out our Coaches Corner with Shannon Turley.

Past Award Recipients Include:

2012 - Andrea Hudy, CSCS, RSCC*D, University of Kansas

2011 - Michael W. Favre, MEd, CSCS,*D, RSCC*D, University of Michigan

2010 - Jonathan Jost, CSCS, RSCC*E, Florida State University

2009 - Jeff Reinardy, CSCS, Winona State University

2008 - Sara L. Wiley, MS, CSCS, University of Minnesota at Twin Cities

2007 - Michael Rankin, CSCS, NSCA-CPT, Drexel University

2006 - Robert dos Remedios, MA, CSCS, College of the Canyons

2005 - Michael Doscher, CSCS, Valdosta State University

2004 - Gerard J. Martin, CSCS,*D, University of Connecticut

2003 - Allen Hedrick, CSCS, Air Force Academy

2002 - Joseph Kenn, CSCS,*D, Arizona State University

2001 - John Taylor, CSCS,*D, New Mexico State University

2000 - Roger Marandino, CSCS, Brown University

1999 - Jim Kramer, University of Northern Iowa

1998 - Tony Decker, University of Delaware

1997 - Dwight Daub, University of Utah

1995 - Steven Scott Plisk, James Madison University

1994 - Tom Cross, University of Oklahoma

1993 - Michael J. Clark, Texas A&M University

1992 - Rick Huegli, Jr, MEd, CSCS, University of Washington

1991 - Steve Bliss, MEd, CSCS, RSCC, North Dakota State University

1990 - John Garhammer, PhD, CSCS, NSCA- CPT, FNSCA, California State University at Long Beach

1989 - Dan Wathen, CSCS,*D, NSCA-CPT*D, FNSCA Youngstown State University

1988 - Bill Allerheiligen, MS, CSCS,*D, NSCA-CPT*D, FNSCA University of Wyoming

1987 - Doug Semenick, University of Louisville

1986 - Bruno Pauletto, CSCS, FNSCA, University of Tennessee

1985 - John Gamble, University of Virginia

1984 - Thomas Baechle, EdD, CSCS,*D, NSCA-CPT*D, Creighton University

1983 - Bill Dunn, University of Virginia

1982 - George Dostal, Clemson University

1981 - Keith Kephart, University of Kansas

1980 - Boyd Epley, MEd, CSCS,*D, FNSCA, RSCC*E, University of Nebraska

Copyright (c) 1999-2012 National Strength and Conditioning Association. Use with permission. All rights reserved. 

Contact Us

1885 Bob Johnson Drive
Colorado Springs, CO 80906

Hours: 8-5 pm

Phone Numbers

Toll-Free: (800) 815-6826 
Phone: (719) 632-6722
Fax: (719) 632-6367  


Get Directions 


National Headquarters

NSCA Board of Directors 


Additional email address: