NSCA Impact Award
  • NSCA Impact Award
    The NSCA Impact Award is given to an individual that has made significant contributions that have impacted the strength and conditioning or fitness industry.
  • The NSCA Impact Award is given to an individual whose career has greatly contributed to the advancement or impact in the national or international strength and conditioning or fitness industry. Recipient is selected by the NSCA Board of Directors based on the estimated number of lives they have touched, the impact of their legacy and the span and scope of an individual's career. (Does not need to be members of the NSCA.)

    Hudy_AndreaCongratulations to our 2017 NSCA Impact Award recipient, Andrea Hudy, MA, CSCS,*D, RSCC*E!

    Hudy, the Assistant Athletics Director for Sports Performance, joined the University of Kansas staff in September 2004. Since her arrival at KU, Hudy has handled the strength and conditioning responsibilities for the KU men’s basketball team. Hudy oversees the Anderson Strength and Conditioning Complex for all KU sports.

    In January 2013, Hudy was named the National College Strength and Conditioning Coach of the Year by the National Strength and Conditioning Association for her dedication to improving athletic performance with safe and effective science-based programs. In summer of 2014, her first book, Power Positions, was published with the potential for more books in the future.

    Including the 20 Jayhawks that have been drafted in the National Basketball Association, she has worked with 40 former student-athletes who went on to play in the NBA and 21 WNBA players.

    In addition to her success in developing collegiate athletes into professionals, Hudy has helped Kansas student-athletes stay on the cutting edge of performance training. In the summer of 2012, Kansas became a signature school for the EliteForm training system, which integrates technology into workout sessions. KU was also the first to use the SpartaTrac™ system to optimize players’ individual strength programs to improve performance and decrease chance of injury.

    Hudy came to Kansas after nine-and-a-half years at the University of Connecticut, where she worked closely with the Huskies’ national champion men’s and women’s basketball teams. In all, Hudy was part of eight national championship teams while at Connecticut - two men’s basketball, five women’s basketball and one men’s soccer.

    A native of Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, Hudy was a four-year letter winner in volleyball at Maryland where she graduated in 1994. Her freshman season at Maryland, she was a member of the 1990 Atlantic Coast Conference volleyball championship team.

    Hudy earned her bachelor of science degree in kinesiology at Maryland and her master’s of art and sport biomechanics degree from Connecticut. She is pursuing her MBA at KU. Additionally, she is a certified strength and conditioning specialist by the National Strength and Conditioning Association and a USAW Level I Coach.

    Award Eligibility

    Nominated by the a member of the Board of Directors.  
    Recommendations may be submitted by current members to board@nsca.com.
    Nomination deadline is December 15th each year.

    Past Recipients of the NSCA Impact Award include:

    2016 - Yuri Verkhoshansky, PhD
    2015 - Keijo Häkkinen, PhD
    2012 - Jim Lorimer
    1997 - Bernard Cahill and John Fatouros