



BOARD OF DIRECTORS ZOOM MEETING MINUTES – APRIL 28, 2023

**Members participating in this meeting:** Dr. Brent Alvar, Dr. Jay Dawes, Dr. Disa Hatfield, Mr. Robert Alejo, Dr. Brandon Roberts, Dr. Paul Comfort, Dr. Sally Paulson, and Mr. Robert Linkul.

Also present at times: NSCA Staff: Michael Massik, Lee Madden, Scott Douglas, Keith Cinea, Jonathan Sagapolutele, Alonso Montiel, and Christina Templeton.

The meeting of the NSCA Board of Directors was called to order at 12:07 pm Mountain Time (MT) on Friday, April 28, 2023 by Dr. Brent Alvar, NSCA President. A quorum was present. The meeting began without Dr. Jay Dawes and Mr. Robert Alejo.

Dr. Jay Dawes joined at 12:08 pm.

### **CONSENT AGENDA**

The following motions were adopted by unanimous consent:

- 2023-04-28-01 Approval of the January 4, 2023 Meeting Minutes
   Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors approve the January 4, 2023 Board of Directors Meeting Minutes as presented.
- 2023-04-28-02 Approval to release the names of the career winners from the January 4, 2023 Executive Session and approve the Meeting Minutes
   Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors approve the January 4, 2023 Board of Directors Executive Session Meeting Minutes and permit the names of the Career Award winners to be public.
- 2023-04-28-03 Ratify the Executive Council vote and Approve the Minutes (interim budget)
   Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors ratify the Executive Council vote and approve the minutes as presented.
- 2023-04-28-04 Ratify the Executive Council vote and Approve the Minutes (Ethics Committee)
   Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors ratify the Executive Council vote and approve the minutes as presented.
- 2023-04-28-05 Approval of NSCA Foundation Board Members
   Adopted Motion: That the Board approve Dave Heikkinen and Scott Caulfield as members of the Foundation Board.
- 2023-04-28-06 Approval of the Awards and Honors Committee Members
   Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors approve Gerald Mangine and Ben Reuter as Awards and Honors Committee members.

- 2023-04-28-07 Approval of Certification Committee Members
   Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors approve Sara Baker as the NSCA-CPT member, Jan Redmond as the TSAC-F member, Egondu M. Onuoha as the Public Member of the Certification Committee.
- 2023-04-28-08 Approval of College Strength and Conditioning Coaches Professional Development Group members.

Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors approve Lee Brown, Peter Kenn, and Kyle Ryan as College Strength and Conditioning Coaches Professional Development Group members, as well as a second term for Scott Caulfield.

- 2023-04-28-09 Approval of Conference Committee Members
   Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors approve Rick Howard, Micah Kurtz, and Shana McKeever as Conference Committee members.
- 2023-04-28-10 Approval of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee Members
   Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors approve Scott Charland as a Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee member as well as a second term for Will Stern.
- 2023-04-28-11 Approval of Education Committee Members
   Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors approve Rosie Lanphere and Jason White as Education Committee members.
- 2023-04-28-12 Approval of High School Strength and Conditioning Coaches Professional Development Group Members

Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors approve Nick Ficker, Jesse Padgett, and Andrew Tirotta as High School Coaches Professional Development Group members, Justin Loudon as new Chair, and second term for Brandon Peifer.

- 2023-04-28-13 Approval of Membership Committee Member Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors approve William Stokes as a Membership Committee member as well as second terms for Chris Bailey, Alexis Batrakoulis, and Chris Powell.
- 2023-04-28-14 Approval of Personal Trainers Development Group Members
   Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors approve Gustavo Ramos and Joseph Sudimack as Personal Trainers
   Professional Development Group members.
- 2023-04-28-15 Approval of Research Committee Members
   Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors approve Yvette Figueroa, Gerald Mangine, and Timothy Suchomel as Research Committee members.
- 2023-04-28-16 Approval of Tactical Development Group Members Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors approve Lee Brown, Ryan Fowler, and William Stokes as Tactical Strength and Conditioning Professional Development Group Members, Andrew Gonzalez as Student Member, the role of Chair for Justin Merrigan, as well as a second term for Joel Martin.
- 2023-04-28-17 Approval of Second Term for Women's Committee Members Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors approve second terms for Mary Kate Feit and Kristin Heumann.

Mr. Robert Alejo joined at 12:12 pm.

# **REPORTS OF OFFICERS**

#### President's Report

• Dr Brandon Roberts and Dr. Jay Dawes volunteered to serve on the Board Policy and Procedures Manual subcommittee, to perform the annual review.

#### **Treasurer's Report**

- The Board of Directors review the 2023-2024 budget.
- 2023-04-28-18 Approval of the 2023 2024 Budget
   Proposed by: Dr. Disa Hatfield
   Vote: Passed Unanimously
   Seconded by: Dr. Jay Dawes
   Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors approves the 2023-2024 budget as presented.

## **REPORTS OF COMMITTEES**

- Nomination Committee: The Liaison provided information from the committee about the value of having a past President on the committee as an ex-officio advisory member and that the election was postponed to start Monday, May 8 by the Executive Council due to the launch of a new Association Management Software and Customer Management Software.
- Ethics Committee: An update of committee activity was presented.
- Fellowship Committee: Recommends four individuals as Fellow of the NSCA.
- 2023-04-28-19 Approval of new Fellows
   Proposed by: Mr. Robert Linkul
   Vote: Passed Unanimously
   Seconded by: Dr. Paul Comfort

   Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors approve Haley Bergstrom, Ashley Herda, Gerald
   Mangine, and Andrew Shim as Fellows of the NSCA.

## **GENERAL ORDERS**

- 2023-04-28-20 Election of Public Member on the Board of Directors
   Proposed by: Dr. Brent Alvar
   Vote: Passed Unanimously

   Seconded by: Dr. Sally Paulson
   Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors elect Kim Koy, J.D. as the Public Member on the Board of Directors.
- 2023-04-28-21 Suspend the Rules of the Research Committee's Application and Voting Process
  Proposed by: Dr. Brandon Roberts/ Amended: Dr. Brent Alvar
  Vote: Passed as Amended Unanimously
  Seconded by: Dr. Paul Comfort / Amended: Dr. Brandon Roberts
  Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors suspend the rules of the application and voting process as outlined
  in the Research Committee Policies and Procedure for this year and have the committee select a member to fill
  the vacant position and report back to the Board.
- **2023-04-28-22** Suspend the rules and allow for selection of two Women's Committee members for positions that will become vacant in July 2023.

Proposed by: Dr. Sally Paulson

Vote: Passed Unanimously

Seconded by: Dr. Jay Dawes

Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors suspend the rules of the standard Committee Selection Procedures and task the Women's Committee to review 2021 committee applications and other considerations and recommend two members to fill vacancies occurring in July at the next Board meeting.

Mr. Robert Alejo left the meeting at 12:45 pm.

Announcements and brief updates were given on the National Conference, ways to recognize Fellows of the NSCA, the Women's Mentorship Program, and Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Mentor Program. The meeting adjourned at 1:05 pm MT.