

1885 BOB JOHNSON DRIVE COLORADO SPRINGS, CO 80906 P. 719.632.6722 | F. 719.632.6367 NSCA.COM/FOUNDATION

# Foundation Board of Directors Meeting Minutes

# National Strength and Conditioning Association Foundation

Zoom Conference Call Friday, January 13, 2023

**Directors participating in the meeting:** Dr. Don Melrose, Dr. Ludmila Cosio-Lima, Mr. Kevin Farley, Dr. Nicole Dabbs, Dr. Jay Dawes, Ashley Jackson, and Dr. Kristen Snyman.

Also present at times: *NSCA Foundation Staff:* Carissa Gump; *NSCA Staff:* Michael Massik, Lee Madden, and Christina Templeton.

The meeting of the NSCA Foundation was called to order at 1:03 pm Eastern Time (ET) on Friday, January 13, 2023 by Dr. Don Melrose, NSCA Foundation President. A quorum was present.

The meeting began without Dr. Jay Dawes.

# **Reports of Officers**

- Dr. Don Melrose, President provided a brief update of Foundation activities.
- Lee Madden, CFO provided a brief financial update to the Board of Directors.
- Michael Massik, NSCA's Executive Director provided an update on Association activities.

Dr. Jay Dawes joined the meeting.

#### **Consent Agenda**

The consent agenda was proposed by Dr. Don Melrose, seconded by Dr. Nicole Dabbs, and adopted unanimously:

F-2023-01-13-01 – Minutes

Adopted motion: Approve September 16, 2022 Meeting Minutes.

# F-2023-01-13-02 – Bank Account Signers

Adopted motion: (Ratify the vote and) Approve Bank Account Signatories Update

# **Committee Reports**

- Coach Ashley Jackson presented the Coaching Advancement & Assistantship Committee report.
- Dr. Ludmila Cosio-Lima presented the Grants Committee report.
- Dr. Don Melrose presented the Investment Committee report.
- Dr. Kristen Snyman presented the Scholarships Committee report.



1885 BOB JOHNSON DRIVE COLORADO SPRINGS, CO 80906 P. 719.632.6722 | F. 719.632.6367 NSCA.COM/FOUNDATION

Motion: F-2023-01-13-03 – New Scholarship Committee Members and Scholarship Panel MembersProposed by: Dr. Kristen SnymanVote: Passed

Seconded by: Dr. Ludmila Cosio-Lima

**Adopted motion:** To accept the new Scholarship Committee Members (Katelin Valster, Michael Naperalsky, and Mitchel Magrini) and Scholarship Panel Members (Dimitrije Cabarkapa, Martin Dietze-Hermosa, and Robert Herron).

Motion: F-2023-01-13-04 – Board of Directors MembersProposed by: Dr. Don MelroseVote: PassedSeconded by: Ashley JacksonVote: PassedAdopted motion: To elect Dave Heikkinen and Scott Caulfield to the NSCA Foundation Board of<br/>Directors.

General Orders

• A potential new scholarship was discussed.

Dr. Nicole Dabbs left the meeting at 2:02 pm ET.

Dr. Don Melrose motioned to adjourn the meeting. It was seconded by Ashley Jackson and adopted. The meeting was adjourned at 2:05 pm ET.