• Recertification & Continuing Education
  • NSCA certifications are more than just exams, they are a commitment to continuous learning and professional excellence. Every three years, certificants must recertify by earning Continuing Education Units (CEUs) to demonstrate that their professional knowledge and skill is up-to-date. The current reporting period ends on December 31, 2017.

    Recertification Steps:
    arrow Review the information on this page and then log in to your Account to see what CEUs you still need to earn.
    arrow Visit the CEU Category pages below to start learning, and earn the CEUs you need.
    arrow Report the CEUs you earn by using the “Report Now” button.
    arrow Be sure to pay the recertification fee on the report page to complete the process.

    Original Certification Date
    Total CEUs Required Category A CEU Maximum Category B CEU Maximum Category C CEU Maximum Category D CEU Maximum
    Before 2015* 6.0 5.5 4.0 5.5 3.5
    During 2015* 4.0 3.5 2.5 3.5 1.5
    During 2016* 2.0 1.5 1.0 1.5 1.0
    1/1/17 to 6/30/17 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0
    7/1/17 to 12/31/17 0.0 - - - -

    *CEUs must be earned from at least two categories. †Only CEUs earned after 1/1/15 qualify. ‡Only CEUs earned after the date of certification qualify. 

    Attend events such as NSCA conferences, clinics, or activities from other providers.      
    Complete quizzes for NSCA webinars and SCJ articles. Authors and presenters can earn CEUs for their work too.
    Renew your AED and/or First Aid certification or get credit for college course work. 
    Earn an additional accredited certification or complete a pre-approved home study course. 
    Recert FAQs CTA