Professional Strength and Conditioning Coach of the Year Award

The Professional Strength and Conditioning Coach of the Year Award is given to an outstanding Certified Strength and Conditioning Specialist® (CSCS) with RSCC distinction, for their dedication to improving the performance of athletes with safe and effective science-based programs.

Congratulations to our 2021 recipient!

Paul Goodman, MS, CSCS, RSCC*E!

Coach Goodman is in his 13th season with the Chicago Blackhawks as the head strength and conditioning coach. Goodman joined the Blackhawks after spending six years as director and head strength and conditioning coach at the University of Vermont (UVM). In 2006, the NSCA named Goodman the State/Provincial Director of the Year, and he also was a finalist for the NSCA's College Strength and Conditioning Professional of the Year award. In addition to UVM, Goodman also spent time with Team USA Women's Hockey, the New York Rangers, and the women’s Canadian U-19 National Lacrosse Team. Goodman is a 1996 graduate of the University of Wisconsin, and he received his first master's degree in Educational Administration in 2003 while serving as a member of the Badgers' strength and conditioning staff. He later completed a second master's degree in Applied Exercise Science from Concordia University-Chicago and is currently in pursuit of his PhD from Grand Canyon University, where his research is focused on performance psychology. Together with team physician Michael Terry, Goodman co-authored the book Hockey Anatomy, recently released through Human Kinetics. In addition, Goodman is a licensed massage therapist and served as an adjunct professor for the University of Vermont Exercise Science Department from 2003 to 2008. He is also the owner of Goodman Elite Training based out of Fifth Third Arena, the Chicago Blackhawks Community Ice Rink and team's official practice facility, specializing in athlete development.

Access the Press Release.

Award Eligibility

Current NSCA Member
NSCA Membership - Minimum 2 years*
NSCA CSCS Certification
NSCA Registered Strength and Conditioning Coach (RSCC) 
Head S & C Coach of a professional sports team or Olympic Team
Not a previous recipient

*Consectutive membership is counted back from the date the award is to be conferred.

Additional requirements listed in the General Awards Criteria, include but not limited to, the nominee must be nominated by a member in good standing and nominees will be sent a criteria sheet to fill out that must be returned with cover letter and CV/resume before the required deadline. 

Past Award Recipients Include:

2020 - Joel Raether, MAEd, CSCS,*D, TSAC-F,*D, RSCC*D - Colorado Mammoth  
2018 - Matthew Krause, MA, CSCS,*D, RSCC*D - New York Yankees  Haff, Krause, Epley
2017 - Bill Foran, CSCS, RSCC*E - Miami Heat  
2016 - Ashley Jones, MS, CSCS, RSCC*E Haff, Jones, Epley, Caulfield 
2015 - Casey Bond, MS, CSCS, USAW, RSCC*D, Colorado Avalanche  
2014 - Joe Kenn, MA, CSCS,*D, RSCC*E, Carolina Panthers  

How is the recipient selected?

1. The NSCA will market and solicit nominees from NSCA membership.
2. Additional award nominees may be recommended by the NSCA Coaching Program Manager based on recommendations by SPD, SIG, and other NSCA Volunteer Program Leaders.
3. Nominees must meet the General Award Criteria requirements.
4. Nominees must meet the Eligibility Requirements stated in the Criteria Sheet of the award to be considered.
5. The nominee shall provide the completed criteria sheet, cover letter, resume or CV, and supporting documentation of involvement, activities and awards to the NSCA National Headquarters by the requested deadline.

Selection Process:

1. The process for selection shall be as follows:
    a. Nominations must be received before the established deadline.
    b. NSCA Headquarters will verify eligibility requirements and overall points for nominees have been met.
    c. Qualified nominees will be notified.
        i. If there are no qualifying nominees, the award will not be given.
    d. Top three nominees based on points for each award will be sent to the Coaching (RSCC) Task Force.
    e. The Coaching (RSCC) Task Force will vote for the winner.

2. The Coaching (RSCC) Task Force:
    a. The Task Force will be volunteers selected yearly by the Coaching Program Manager.
    b. It will be apparent that the Task Force is impartial to the nominees.
    c. The Task Force will be comprised of >50% non-coaching award recipients and <50% past coaching award recipients.
    d. For the HS Coach of the Year Award voting, members of the HS SIG Executive Council will be included in the Task Force.
    e. The Coaching Program Manager will certify that the policies and procedures for the nomination and awarding process were followed as outlined herein.
    f. The Coaching Program Manager will submit the winners’ names to the Awards and Honors Committee Chair for review and approval.

3. The Awards and Honors Committee Chair will
    a. Notify the Board of Directors of the recipient.

4. The NSCA Headquarters will:
    a. Notify the recipients of the award.
    b. Send regret notifications.
    c. Create a Press Release and online announcement of the winners.
    d. Will verify attendance at the Coaches Conference Opening Ceremony or the National Conference Awards Banquet.

#everyonestronger #everyonestronger

has been added to your shopping cart!

Continue Shopping Checkout Now