Educator of the Year

The Educator of the Year Award is presented to an educator who has made noteworthy contributions to education and clinical application of strength training and conditioning.

Congratulations to our 2024 Winner!

Guy Hornsby, PhD, CSCS,*D, RSCC*D

Dr. Guy Hornsby is an Assistant Professor at West Virginia University in Coaching and Performance Science (CPS). His primary responsibilities include overseeing the strength and conditioning and applied sport science aspects within the CPS program (Bachelor’s, Master’s, and Doctoral). Additionally, he coordinates and oversees a schoolboard-funded graduate assistantship program that provides a Head Strength and Conditioning Coach to three local area high schools. Dr. Hornsby previously served as the NSCA State Director for West Virginia and is currently the NSCA Weightlifting SIG Chair. He has presented at the NSCA National Conference, NSCA Coaches Conference, and the NSCA Advanced Periodization Virtual Clinic. He contributed a chapter, “Exercise Technique,” to the upcoming 5th edition of the NSCA’s Essentials of Strength Training and Conditioning, authored or co-authored several book chapters, and co-authored Strength and Conditioning in Sports: From Science to Practice. Dr. Hornsby’s research is centered around better understanding the training process for strength-power athletes and various aspects of athlete monitoring.

Download the Press Release

Award Eligibility

NSCA Membership for 2 consecutive years*
NSCA Certification (CSCS or NSCA-CPT)
Degrees conferred
Has not received award previously

*Consecutive membership is counted back from the date the award is to be conferred.

Additional requirements listed in the General Awards Criteria, include but not limited to, the nominee must be nominated by a member in good standing and nominees will be sent a evaluation form to fill out that must be returned before the required deadline. 

Past Award Recipients Include:

2023 - John McMahon, PhD, CSCS,*D

2023 Educator.jpg
2022 - David H. Fukuda, PhD, CSCS,*D, FNSCA LZ8A8938-David-Fukuda-Educator-Award-web (002).jpg
2021 - Paul Comfort, PhD, CSCS,*D  
2020 - Chad M. Kerksick, PhD, CSCS,*D, NSCA-CPT,*D, FNSCA  Triplett and Kerksick Educator of the Year
2019 - Rhodri S. Lloyd, PhD, CSCS,*D  Triplett and Lloyd
2017 - Matt Stock, PhD, CSCS,*D  Haff and Stock
2016 - Brent A. Alvar, PhD, CSCS,*D, RSCC*D, FACSM, FNSCA Haff and Alvar
2015 - Jeffrey R. Stout, PhD, CSCS, FNSCA  Stout and Fleck
2014 - Andrew C. Fry, PhD, CSCS*D, FNSCA  Fleck and Fry
2013 - Jared Coburn, PhD, CSCS,*D, FNSCA, FACSM  
2012 - Michael A. Martino, PhD, CSCS  
2010 - Lee E. Brown, EdD, CSCS,*D, FNSCA  
2009 - Jose Antonio, PhD, CSCS, FNSCA  
2008 - Margaret T. Jones, PhD, CSCS,*D  
2007 - Ellyn M. Robinson, DPE, CSCS,*D  
2006 - Terry Housh, PhD, FNSCA  
2005 - David R. Pearson, PhD, CSCS,*D  
2004 - Mike Greenwood, PhD, CSCS,*D  
2003 - Jay R. Hoffman, PhD, CSCS,*D, RSCC*D  
2002 - William J. Kraemer, PhD, CSCS  

How is this recipient selected?

  1. Nominations must be received before the established deadline.
  2. NSCA Headquarters will verify Eligibility Requirements, minimum category requirements, and overall points for nominees have been met.
  3. Qualified nominees will be notified.
    • If there are no qualifying nominees, the award will not be given.
  4. Top three nominees based on points will be sent to the Education Chair. The Education Chair will organize the vote.
    • Voting participants should be comprised of >50% Education Committee Members, with the remainder coming from past Educator of the Year award recipients.
    • Current Education Committee members are not eligible for this award.
    • The Chair will notify NSCA Headquarters and the Awards and Honors Committee Chair of the vote result.
    • The Education Committee will not notify the recipient.
  5. The Awards and Honors Committee Chair will:
    • Notify the Board of Directors of the recipient
  6. The NSCA National Headquarters will:
    • Notify the recipient of the award.
    • Send regret notifications.
    • Create a Press Release announcement of the winner.
    • Will verify attendance at the National Conference awards banquet.
#NSCAStrong #NSCAStrong

has been added to your shopping cart!

Continue Shopping Checkout Now