Nutritional Research Achievement Award

This award is given to a nutritionist in recognition for their breakthroughs and contributions in field of nutritional research for athletes.

Congratulations to the 2020 winner!

Andrew Jagim, PhD, CSCS,*D

Jagim is currently the Director of Sport Medicine Research for the Mayo Clinic Health System in La Crosse, WI. He earned his Bachelor’s degree in Physical Education and Exercise Science at the University of North Dakota and later completed a Master’s degree in Human Performance at the University of Wisconsin – La Crosse. He went on to complete his PhD in Kinesiology with an emphasis in Exercise Physiology at Texas A&M University, working under Dr. Richard Kreider in the Exercise and Sport Nutrition Lab. His primary research area focuses on the nutritional requirements, knowledge and intake of athletes and relationships between performance and health. He also has a focused interest on the safety and efficacy of dietary supplements. This work has led to several publications in peer-reviewed journals and presentations at multiple national conference events. He is currently investigating the prevalence of low energy availability in collegiate athletes in addition to examining the impact of nutritional supplementation on recovery following surgery. Jagim is also a Certified Strength and Conditioning Specialist with Distinction through the NSCA and a Certified Sports Nutritionist through the International Society of Sports Nutrition. In addition to his time spent with research, Jagim has worked as a personal trainer and a sports nutrition consultant for a variety of clients and athletes. He currently sees patients looking for consultation regarding sports nutrition and training strategies in the Sports Medicine Department for Mayo Clinic Health System in La Crosse, WI. Jagim is also a co-host for the podcast Clinically Pressed which is focused on the translation of research findings for athletes, coaches, and exercise enthusiasts.

View Jagim's Press Release.

Award Eligibility

Be a current member of the NSCA
Nominee is active member and contributor to NSCA
Has publication record in areas of nutrition (sports nutrition, ergogenic aids, etc.)
Not awarded this award previously

Additional requirements listed in the General Awards Criteria, include but not limited to, two years of consecutive membership*, be nominated by a member in good standing and nominees will be sent a criteria sheet to fill out that must be returned before the required deadline. 

*Consectutive membership is counted back from the date the award is to be conferred.

Past Award Recipients Include:

2019 - Bill I. Campbell, PhD, CSCS  Triplett and Campbell
2017 - Michael Ormsbee, PhD, CSCS, FACSM, FISSN  Haff and Ormsbee
2016 - Chad M. Kerksick, PhD, CSCS,*D, NSCA-CPT,*D  Haff and Kerksick
2015 - Colin Wilborn, PhD, ATC, CSCS, NSCA-CPT, FISSN  Fleck and Wilborn
2014 - Abbie Smith-Ryan, PhD, CSCS,*D, FISSN  Fleck and Smith-Ryan
2013 - Joshua Hingst, RD, CSCS, CSCCa, USAW  
2012 - Marie A. Spano, MS, CSCS  
2011 - Joel T. Cramer, PhD, CSCS,*D, NSCA-CPT,*D, FNSCA  
2010 - Richard B. Kreider, PhD  
2009 - Nicholas A. Ratamess Jr, PhD, CSCS,*D  
2008 - Jeffery R. Stout, PhD, CSCS,*D  
2007 - Andrew C. Fry, PhD, CSCS, FNSCA  
2006 - Michael H. Stone, PhD  
2005 - Jose Antonio, PhD, CSCS  
2004 - Joan M. Eckerson, PhD, CSCS  
2003 - Jeff Volek, PhD, CSCS,*D  

How is the recipient selected?

Excerpt from the NSCA Reaserch Committee Policies and Procedures (updated 7/2019):

  • Research-based awards governed by the Awards Subcommittee of the NSCA Research Committee govern the selection of the following awards, based on the 3 nominees (for each award) that will be forwarded to the Awards Subcommittee from Headquarters. Headquarters will be responsible for the initial assessment of the Award Criteria Sheet and include the following awards:
    • William J. Kraemer Outstanding Sport Scientist Award
    • Terry J. Housh Young Investigator of the Year Award
    • Nutritional Research Achievement Award
  • For the William J. Kraemer Outstanding Sport Scientist Award, Terry J. Housh Young Investigator of the Year Award, and the Nutritional Research Award, all recipients are nominated by the NSCA membership through the online nomination system and/or by the Awards Subcommittee of the Research Committee. All nominees then are asked by the NSCA staff to submit relevant materials and all recipients are decided by a standardized scoring system. The top 3 nominees, based on the Awards Criteria Scoresheet will be forwarded to the Awards Subcommittee chair.
  • The Awards Subcommittee will organize and verify the top candidates meet the criteria (two separate reviews of each candidate).
  • The Chair of the Subcommitee will then produce a summary of each candidate that will include a brief description of the accomplishments of each candidate in the areas listed in the Awards Criteria Sheet (Publications in NSCA & Applied Exercise and Sport Science Publications, Presentations at NSCA and other Conventions, Certification/Education and Research-related service.
  • The summaries of the nominees will be sent to the entire RC and past award winners for a vote of the top awardee for each award. If a current member of the RC is nominated for an award, they will be recused from the voting process and all correspondence of that particular award, but are still eligible for nomination and award. If a current member of the RC is also a past winner they shall vote only as an RC member.
  • Voting will occur in a weighted manner with 40% contributed by past winners of the award and 60% weight given by RC members. As such, the total weight of the past winners (40%) will be divided by the number of past winners who agree to participate in the voting, and the resulting percent will contribute the weight of each past winners vote. Similarly, the total weight of the RC members (60%) will be divided by the number of Committee members (7), and the resulting percent (approximately 8.57%) will contribute the weight of each Committee member to the voting. The sum of the vote percentages from past winners and Committee members will determine the award winner.
  • The chair of the Awards subcommittee will keep record of the entire voting process and will then forward the selected winners for each award to the BOD. If there is a tie, two names for the award will be forwarded to the BOD recommended for dual recipients.
#everyonestronger #everyonestronger

has been added to your shopping cart!

Continue Shopping Checkout Now