Sports Medicine/Rehabilitation Specialist

The Sports Medicine/Rehabilitation Specialist Award is given to a sports medicine professional whose work and contributions have significantly impacted the field of sports medicine or rehabilitation for athletes.

Current members are encouraged to nominate a deserving individual for the Sports Medicine/Rehabilitation Specialist Award. Nominees must meet the Award Eligibility outlined below to be considered.

Congratulations to the 2020 winner!

Ben Reuter, PhD, CSCS,*D, ATC

Reuter is an Associate Professor in the Department of Exercise Science and Sport Studies at California University of Pennsylvania. He earned his undergraduate degree in Health and Physical Education, with an emphasis in Allied Health from Gettysburg College and his Master’s degree in Athletic Training from Old Dominion University. He completed his PhD in Exercise Physiology at Auburn University. Reuter has been a member of the NSCA since 1988, and a Certified Strength and Conditioning Specialist (CSCS) since 1990.

View Reuter's Press Release.

Award Eligibility

NSCA Membership
Consecutive membership for 2 years*
NSCA Certification
Licensure (AT, PT, MD, DO, DC)
Cover letter, resume or CV, and criteria worksheet recieved
Award Not Previously Received

*Consectutive membership is counted back from the date the award is to be conferred.

Additional requirements listed in the General Awards Criteria, include but not limted to, nominee must be nominated by a member in good standing and nominees will be sent a criteria sheet to fill out that must be returned before the required deadline. 

Past Award Recipients Include:

2019 - William J. Hanney, DPT, PhD, ATC, CSCS 2010 - Scott E. Lawrance, CSCS
2018 - Daniel Lorenz, DPT, PT, ATC/L, CSCS 2009 - Danny McMillian, DPT, CSCS
2017 - Bill Holcomb, PhD, ATC, LAT, CSCS,*D, FNATA, FNSCA 2008 - Jaynie Bjornaraa, PhD, MPH, PT, CSCS,*D
2016 - Robert Panariello, MS, PT, ATC, CSCS 2007 - Dan Wathen, CSCS,*D, NSCA-CPT,*D, FNSCA
2015 - Arianne Missimer, DPT, RD, FMS, RKC, TPI, CSCS 2005 - David Potach, CSCS,*D, NSCA-CPT,*D
2014 - Morey Kolber, PT, PhD, OCS, Cert. MDT, CSCS 2004 - Jeff Falkel, CSCS,*D
2013 - Terry Grindstaff, PhD, PT, ATC, SCS, CSCS,*D 2003 - Todd Ellenbecker, CSCS
2012 - John P. McCarthy, PhD, CSCS,*D, FNSCA 2002 - Jeff Fahrenbruch, MPT, CSCS,*D
2011 - Greg Myer, PhD, CSCS 2001 - Donald Chu, PhD

How are recipients selected?

1. The process for selection shall be as follows:
    a. Nominations must be received before the established deadline.
    b. NSCA Headquarters will verify eligibility requirements for nominees have been met.
    c. Qualified nominees will be notified.
        a. If there are no qualifying nominees, the award will not be given.
    d. Criteria sheets and supporting information will be sent to the Sports Medicine/Rehabilitation SIG Chair, unless the Chair is a nominee.
        A. The Chair will:
            1. Determine if any of the nominees are part of the current Executive Council.
                a. If none are, the Chair will submit the top three nominees to the Council for vote. The Chair may participate in this vote.
                b. If members of the Council have been nominated and rank in the top three, the Chair will create an impartial Task Force of five to vote on the winner. The Chair may not participate in this vote.
                    i. The Task Force will be comprised of >50% Chair selected NSCA members and <50% past award winners.
        B. If the Chair is a nominee:
            1. The top three nominees will be submitted to the Chair of the Membership Committee for committee vote.
    e. The Chair will notify NSCA Headquarters and the Awards and Honors Committee Chair of winner. The Executive Council will not notify the selected recipient.

2. The Awards and Honors Committee Chair will:
    a. Notify the Board of Directors of the recipient.

3. NSCA Headquarters will:
    a. Notify the recipient of the award.
    b. Send regret notifications.
    c. Create a Press Release announcement of the winner.
    d. Will verify attendance at the National Conference awards banquet.

#everyonestronger #everyonestronger

has been added to your shopping cart!

Continue Shopping Checkout Now