Thank you for bearing with us while we deal with a few website issues. Learn More.


Thank you for bearing with us while we deal with a few website issues. Learn More.

Tactical Strength and Conditioning Coach of the Year Award

The Tactical Strength and Conditioning Coach of the Year Award is awarded to the coach whose influence within his or her assigned tactical (military, law enforcement, fire and rescue) setting exceeds that of peers. Achieving this influence can be the result of one or multiple coaching related accomplishments such as but not limited to measurable performance improvements or injury reduction, program creation, advancement through innovation, and other initiatives that enhance wellness, health, and performance at the local level.


Joseph R. Kelleher, CSCS, TSAC-F

Joseph "Reilly" Kelleher currently serves as the Head Strength & Conditioning Coach at Joint Base Elmendorf-Richardson (JBER), Alaska. Mr. Kelleher is a Certified Strength and Conditioning Specialist (CSCS) and Tactical Strength and Conditioning Facilitator (TSAC-F) through the NSCA. Mr. Kelleher has spent the last 14 years working for the Department of Defense as a civilian. Mr. Kelleher has been at JBER Strength & Conditioning since its inception. Additionally, Mr. Kelleher attended and graduated the U.S. Army Cold Weather Orientation Course (CWOC) earning the Arctic tab, held at the Northern Warfare Center at Black Rapids, Alaska. Mr. Kelleher holds a Bachelor of Science in Exercise Science with a minor in Athletic Training from Central Washington University.

View the Press Release.

Award Eligibility

Current NSCA Member for 2 consecutive years 
Current coach in tactical (military, law enforcement, fire and rescue) related setting 
Must have a minimum of 5-years coaching directly related to tactical 
Current CSCS certification
Cover letter and Resume or CV

Additional requirements listed in the General Awards Criteria, include but not limited to, the nominee must be nominated by a member in good standing and nominees will be sent a criteria sheet to fill out that must be returned with cover letter and CV/resume before the required deadline. 

How is the recipient selected?

  • The process for selection shall be as follows:
    • Nominations must be received before the established deadline.
    • NSCA Headquarters will verify of eligibility requirements, minimum category requirements, and overall points for nominees have been met.
    • Qualified nominees will be notified.
      • If there are no qualifying nominees, the award will not be given.
    • Top three nominees based on points for each award will be sent to the Tactical Award Task Force.
    • The Tactical Award Task Force will vote for one winner for each award.
    • The Tactical Award Task Force:
      • The Tactical Task Force will be volunteers selected yearly by the Tactical Manager.
      • It will be apparent that the Task Force is impartial to the nominees.
      • The Task Force will be comprised of >50% non-Tactical award recipients and <50% past Tactical award recipients (this award and previous Facilitator recipients).
      • The Task Force will not notify the selected recipients.
    • The Tactical Strength and Conditioning Coach of the Year Award is presented once a year at NSCA Tactical Annual Training during the awards ceremony.
  • The NSCA Headquarters will:
    • Send the recipient’s name to the Awards and Honors Committee for approval.
    • The vetted recipient will be submitted to the Board of Directors for approval.
    • Notify the award recipients.
    • Send regret notifications.
    • Create a Press Release announcement of the winners.
    • Will verify attendance at the Tactical Annual Training awards reception.
#NSCAStrong #NSCAStrong

has been added to your shopping cart!

Continue Shopping Checkout Now