Terry J. Housh Outstanding Young Investigator Award

The Terry J. Housh Outstanding Young Investigator Award is given in recognition of a researcher who has been in the field for seven years or less.

Congratulations to the 2019 Winner!

Jonathan M. Oliver, PhD, CSCS,*D

Jonathan M. Oliver, PhD, CSCS,*D, currently serves as the Senior Associate Athletic Director of High-Performance at Army West Point where he oversees Army's athletic training and strength and conditioning departments as well as the nutrition and analytics program for its over 1,000 cadet-athletes across 28 sports. In addition, Oliver holds a Research Associate appointment within the Sports Performance Research Institute New Zealand (SPRINZ) at Auckland University of Technology.  Prior to joining Army, Oliver was faculty in the Kinesiology Department of Texas Christian University and Director of the Sport Science Center. Oliver is well-published in the fields of strength and conditioning and sports medicine with several invited presentations nationally and internationally. He remains an active member of the National Strength and Conditioning Association.

Dr. Jonathan Oliver

Award Eligibility

Be a current member for two consecutive years
Doctoral degree received seven or less years ago
Active and proven contributor to the NSCA
Working as a sports scientist researcher
Holds a junior, non-tenured faculty position
Has not previously won this award
Nominated by a current member

Additionally, nominees will need to fill out an evaluation criteria (PDF download) and submit a cover letter, resume/CV, and supporting documentation to nominations@nsca.com. Qualifying nominees will also be asked for media/public relations/communication officer contact information, a high resolution head shot (1MB or larger), a short bio, Twitter handle (optional), and a signed media release.

Past Award Recipients Include:

2018 - Nathaniel D.M. Jenkins, PhD, CSCS and Brad Schoenfeld, PhD, CSCS,*D, NSCA-CPT,*D, TSAC-F,*D, FNSCA 2007 - Mike R. McGuigan, PhD, CSCS,*D, FNSCA
2017 - Rhodri S. Lloyd, PhD, CSCS,*D 2006 - Jeffrey M. McBride, PhD, CSCS
2016 - David H. Fukuda, PhD, CSCS,*D 2005 - Nicholas A. Ratamess Jr., PhD, CSCS and Joel T. Cramer, CSCS,*D, NSCA-CPT,*D 
2015 - Abbie E. Smith-Ryan, PhD, CSCS,*D, FISSN 2004 - Jeff S. Volek, PhD, RD
2014 - Sophia Nimphius, PhD, CSCS,*D 2003 - Lee Brown, EdD, CSCS,*D
2013 - Jacob Wilson, PhD, CSCS,*D 2002 - Tammy K. Evetovich, PhD, CSCS
2012 - Del Pui-Lam Wong, DPhil, CSCS,*D 2001 - G. Gregory Haff, PhD, CSCS,*D, FNSCA, Jeffrey R. Stout, PhD, CSCS,*D, FNSCA and Lymperis P. Koziris, PhD, CSCS, NSCA-CPT
2011 - Eric D. Ryan, PhD, CSCS, NSCA-CPT 2000 - Joseph P. Weir, PhD, FNSCA, Jay R. Hoffman, PhD, FNSCA and Travis Triplett-McBride, PhD, CSCS,*D, FNSCA
2010 - Brian Schilling, PhD, CSCS, FNSCA and 
Moh H. Malek, PhD, CSCS,*D, NSCA-CPT,*D, FNSCA
1999 - Avery Faigenbaum, EdD, CSCS, CSPS, FNSCA
2009 - Jared W. Coburn, PhD, CSCS,*D, FNSCA and Travis Beck, PhD 1998 - Andrew Fry, PhD, CSCS,*D, FNSCA
2008 - William P. Ebben, PhD, CSCS,*D and 
Matthew R. Rhea, PhD, CSCS

How is the recipient selected?

Research Committee - Awards Subcommittee:

  1. Following a general membership call for nominees, the awards subcommittee will govern the selection of the following awards:
    • William J. Kraemer Outstanding Sport Scientist Award
    • Terry J. Housh Young Investigator of the Year Award
    • Nutritional Research Achievement Award
  2. Scoresheets from accepting nominees will be provided to the Awards Subcommittee, to be organized identifying the top 2-3 ranked nominees in each category.
  3. Produce the nomination list of the top candidates to the remainder of the RC and past winners of the award to vote on.
  4. Submit voted award winners to BOD.
  5. Any RC member that is nominated for an award is eligible, but must recuse themselves from all voting and correspondence once their nomination is known.
#everyonestronger #everyonestronger

has been added to your shopping cart!

Continue Shopping Checkout Now