The Boyd Epley Award for Lifetime Achievement

The Boyd Epley Award, the highest NSCA honor, recognizes individuals who exhibit historical impact, achievements, and dedication to the NSCA over the course of their career.

The Award's Namesake

Boyd Epley, veteran strength and conditioning coach, etched his name in the annals of the profession, not just for his pioneering efforts in dispelling the myth of muscle binding and promoting weight training, but also through his influence in founding the NSCA to help educate and shape the industry.

Awardee Selection

The Boyd Epley Award recognizes a liftetime of contributions to both the NSCA and the field of strength and conditioning. Prospective Awardees must first meet the minimum requirements. Nominees are then selected based on a point system covering multiple categories including:

    • Involvement with the NSCA at a governance level
      Publication in an NSCA Journal
    • Education and NSCA Certifications held
    • Presentations at NSCA Conferences or Clinics
    • Additional volunteer service to the NSCA 

The Board of Directors carefully deliberates to select the recipient of the Boyd Epley Award, as it is the most prestigious award a member of the NSCA can receive.


Candidates are nominated by a past president or the current member of the NSCA Board of Directors
Candidates must have a minimum of 25 years of NSCA membership
Candidates are at least 60 years of age

All nominees must submit a criteria sheet (PDF download), current resume/CV, and supporting documentation to


Congratulations to Our 2023 Winner

Ashley Jones, MSc, CSCS,*D, RSCC*E

Ashley Jones has worked as a strength & conditioning coach in three professional sports, in seven countries, and across four continents in a career that has lasted over 30 years. He has spoken at numerous strength & conditioning and fitness conferences and seminars around the world and contributed articles to the NSCA’s journals. Additionally, he is in his 11th year as a columnist for EliteFTS and has published writings in the Westside Barbell Conjugate Club rugby column, IronMind journal, and the Get Strength website. Jones is also the Chair of the Executive Council for the NSCA Rugby Special Interest Group (SIG), Chair of the NSCA’s Awards & Honors Committee, and a member of the NSCA Certification Committee. He was awarded the RSCC*E in 2014 and has held the CSCS continuously since 1988. In 2016, he was awarded Professional Strength and Conditioning Coach of the Year by the NSCA. Although Australian by birth, he currently resides in Christchurch, New Zealand, with his wife Donna and their 18-month-old puppy Nessie.

Read Full Press Release
Ashley Jones
2022 - Michael J. Nitka, MS, CSCS,*D, RSCC*E, FNSCA*E LZ8A8983-Mike-Nitka-Boyd-Epley-Award-web (002).jpg
2021 - Bill Allerheiligen, MS, FNSCA  Triplett, Allerheiligen, And Epley Lifetime Achievement Award
2020 - Terry J. Housh, PhD, FNSCA  Triplett, Housh, And Epley Lifetime Achievement Award
2019 - T. Jeff Chandler, EdD, CSCS, NSCA-CPT, FNSCA Boyd, Chandler, Triplett 
2018 - Andrew C. Fry, PhD, CSCS,*D, FNSCA  Haff, Fry, Epley
2017 - Avery Faigenbaum, EdD, CSCS, CSPS, FNSCA  Haff, Faigenbaum, Epley
2015 - Gerard Martin, MA, CSCS, RSCC*E  Epley, Martin, Fleck
2014 - Lee Brown, EdD, CSCS,*D, FACSM, FNSCA  Housh, Fleck, Brown, Epley
2013 - Gene Coleman, EdD, CSCS, RSCC,*E  
2012 - Al Vermeil, CSCS, RSCC*E  
2011- Everett Harman, PhD, CSCS, NSCA-CPT  
2010 - Steve Bliss, MEd, CSCS, RSCC*E, FNSCA  
2009 - Meg Ritchie-Stone, MS, FNSCA  
2008 - Bruno Pauletto, MS, CSCS, FNSCA  
2007 - Gary A. Dudley, PhD, CSCS  
2005 - Steven J. Fleck, PhD, CSCS, FNSCA  
2004 - John Garhammer, PhD, CSCS, NSCA-CPT, FNSCA  
2000 - Mike Stone, PhD, CSCS, FNSCA  
1998 - Tom Baechle, EdD, CSCS,*D, NSCA-CPT,*D  
1996 - Dan Wathen, CSCS,*D, NSCA-CPT*D, FNSCA  
1994 - William J. Kraemer, PhD, CSCS, FNSCA  
1993 - Boyd Epley, MEd, CSCS,*D, RSCC*E, FNSCA  
#NSCAStrong #NSCAStrong

has been added to your shopping cart!

Continue Shopping Checkout Now