NSCA Impact Award

The NSCA Impact Award is given to an individual who is mid-career or later that has made significant contributions that have impacted a segment of the overall field of strength and conditioning. The NSCA Board of Directors carefully deliberates to select the recipient of this prestigious award.

Congratulations to the 2021 winner!

G. Gregory Haff, PhD, CSCS,*D, FNSCA

G. Gregory Haff, PhD, CSCS,*D, FNSCA, ASCC is the Professor of Strength and Conditioning at the School of Medical and Health Sciences at Edith Cowan University. Professor Haff is currently researching ways to optimize the delivery of resistance training interventions as part of a variety of athlete’s periodized training plans. As part of this work, his research team is examining the factors related to close quarter battle and the use of technology to quantify work-loads in special forces soldiers. Overall, he is interested in how to better design periodized training plans in order to ensure operational readiness as well as enhance the overall health and wellness of soldiers. Professor Haff served as the President of the National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA) from 2015-2018. He is the co-editor of the 4th edition of the “NSCA Essentials of Strength Training and Conditioning” and is a popular speaker at national and international conferences. He has consulted with the Chinese Olympic Committee (weightlifting/rowing), the English Institute of Sport (Track Cycling/Netball/Weightlifting), professional sports teams (Jacksonville Jaguars, Adelaide Crows, Western Force, Wildcats, West Coast Fever, and several other teams). He currently serves as the Sport Scientist on the Australian Weightlifting High Performance Commission. In 2014, Dr. Haff was named the United Kingdom Strength & Conditioning Association: Strength & Conditioning Coach of the Year for Education and Research. Additionally, in 2011 he was awarded the NSCA’s William J. Kraemer Sport Scientist of the Year Award for his applied sport science research. Professor Haff is a Level 3 Weightlifting Coach in the United States and Australia. He has served as the Head Coach of the Australian Jr Men’s and Women’s Oceania Weightlifting Teams an Assistant Coach with the Australian Sr Women’s National Weightlifting Team. He is an Australian Strength and Conditioning Association Level-2 Strength Coach, a United Kingdom Strength and Conditioning Association Accredited Strength and Conditioning Coach, and a Certified Strength and Conditioning Specialist (NSCA).

View Press Release

Award Eligibility

Nominee must have a minimum of five years cumulative professional membership
Individuals must be nominated by a current member of the Board of Directors but recommendations may be submitted to the Board by any current member of the Association
Nominations must be accompanied by a brief supporting statement regarding the nominee’s qualifications for consideration for the award
Nominations and recommendations must be received by December 15 to be considered for the following year’s award

Past Award Recipients Include:

2020 - Steven J. Fleck, PhD, CSCS, FACSM, FNSCA  
2019 - Jerry L. Mayhew, PhD Triplett and Mayhew 
2018 - Mike Arthur, CSCS, RSCC*D  Haff and Arthur
2017 - Andrea Hudy, MA, CSCS,*D, RSCC*E  Haff and Hudy
2016 - Yuri Verkhoshansky, PhD  
2015 - Keijo Häkkinen, PhD  
2012 - Jim Lorimer  
1997 - Bernard Cahill and John Fatouros  
#everyonestronger #everyonestronger

has been added to your shopping cart!

Continue Shopping Checkout Now