JSCR Editorial Excellence Award

This award is presented to members of the Journal of Strength and Conditioning Research Editorial Board in recognition of their service to the association.

Congratulations to our 2018 recipients!

David R. Hooper, PhD, CSCS,*D

Dr. Hooper is an assistant professor in the Department of Kinesiology at Jacksonville University. He is the Director of the Exercise Physiology Laboratory and Co-Director of the newly formed Center for Health and Human Performance. He has authored or coauthored over 30 peer reviewed publications and over 40 abstract presentations. His primary areas of interest are strength and conditioning, endocrinology and sport nutrition.

Joseph P. Weir, PhD, FNSCA

Dr. Joseph P. Weir is currently the Chair of the Department of Health, Sport, and Exercise Sciences at the University of Kansas. He received his PhD in Exercise Physiology at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. From 1993-1995, he was a faculty member in the Applied Physiology program at Teachers College, Columbia University. From 1995 - 2012, Dr. Weir was a faculty member and Research Coordinator in the Department of Physical Therapy at Des Moines University, in Des Moines Iowa. Dr. Weir is active in the American College of Sports Medicine and the National Strength and Conditioning Association.

Past Award Recipients Include:

2017 - Brend Alvar, PhD, CSCS,*D, RSCC*D and Joseph F. Signorile, PhD 2007 - Jill A. Bush, PhD, CSCS
2016 - N. Travis Triplett, PhD, CSCS,*D, FNSCA and Jared W. Coburn, PhD, CSCS,*D, FNSCA 2006 - Nicholas A. Ratamess Jr., PhD, CSCS,*D
2015 - Loren Chiu, PhD, CSCS and Tammy Evetovich, PhD, CSCS 2005 - Ann M. Swank, PhD
2014 - G. Greg Haff, PhD, and Maren S. Fragala, PhD, CSCS,*D 2004 - Steve Fleck, PhD, CSCS
2013 - Jakob Vingren, PhD, CSCS and Patrick Jacobs, PhD, CSCS 2003 - Bruce Craig, PhD
2012 - John Caruso, PhD and Sean P. Flanagan, PhD, CSCS,*D 2002 - Lee E. Brown, EdD, CSCS,*D
2011 - Joel T. Cramer, PhD, CSCS,*D, NSCA-CPT,*D, FNSCA and Duncan N. French, PhD, CSCS 2001 – Jay R. Hoffman, PhD, CSCS,*D, RSCC*D. and Jeffrey R. Stout, PhD
2010 - Mike R. McGuigan, PhD, CSCS,*D and Kent J. Adams, PhD, CSCS 2000 - Jerry L. Mayhew, PhD and Dan Wathen , CSCS,*D, NSCA-CPT*D, FNSCA
2009 - William P. Ebben, PhD, CSCS,*D and Brian Schilling, PhD, CSCS, FNSCA 1999 - E. Paul Roetert, PhD
2008 - Terry J. Housh, PhD, FNSCA 1998 - Larry W. Weiss, PhD

How are recipients selected?

The Editor-In-Chief selects the recipient(s) of the JSCR Editorial Excellence Award annually in April-May from members of the JSCR Editorial Board based on their overall contribution to the review and editorial process over the past year. Recipients may only be awarded this award once.  

#everyonestronger #everyonestronger

has been added to your shopping cart!

Continue Shopping Checkout Now