SCJ Editorial Excellence Award

The Strength and Conditioning Journal (SCJ) Editorial Excellence Award is presented to an individual in recognition of their exemplary service to the review and editorial process of the SCJ.

Congratulations to the 2020 winner!

Paul Salamh, PT, DPT, PhD

Salamh is an assistant professor at the University of Indianapolis. His research and teaching expertise are in the areas of the shoulder complex and sports medicine. Salamh has been an invited lecturer both nationally and internationally bringing the most current evidence-based ideas and practices to a variety of healthcare professionals around the world. He sits on the editorial board for the Journal of Clinical Trials in Orthopedic Disorders and is a review editor for Injury Prevention and Rehabilitation. Additionally, Salamh has authored over 35 peer-reviewed journal articles.

View Salamh's Press Release

Past Award Recipients Include:

2019 - Paul Comfort, PhD, CSCS,*D  Triplett, Comfort, Chandler
2018 - Chris Bishop, MSc  Chandler, Bishop, Haff
2017 - Edward McNeely, MS, CSCS  Chandler, McNeely, Haff
2016 - Melissa Aversa, DPT, OCS, CSCS  Haff, Aversa, Chandler
2015 - Stephanie M. Svoboda, DPT, MS, CSCS, USAW  Fleck, Svoboda, Chandler
2014 - Patrick Pabian  
2013 - Dr. Scott Cheatham, DPT  
2012 - Daniel Lorenz, DPT, CSCS  
2011 - William J. Hanney IV, DPT, CSCS  
2010 - Kelly Brooks, PhD, CSCS  
2009 - Morey J. Kolber, PT, PhD, CSCS  
2008 - Mark Kovacs, PhD, CSCS  
2007 - David J. Szymanski, PhD, CSCS,*D  
2006 - Patrick McHenry, MA, CSCS,*D  
2005 - Loren Chiu, CSCS  
2004 - Brian Findley, CSCS,*D  
2003 - Avery Faigenbaum, EdD, CSCS,*D, FNSCA  
2002 - Michael Stone, PhD  
2001 - Allen R. Hedrick  
2000 - John F. Graham  
1999 - Steven S. Plisk, MS, CSCS  

How is the recipient selected?

The Strength and Conditioning Journal (SCJ) Editorial Excellence Award is given to an outstanding reviewer for the SCJ each year. The steps for choosing an award winner are as stated below:  

  1. Each year, SCJ identifies the top reviewers (generally 6 – 10) for the past year using statistics provided by Editorial Manager. These reviewers are selected based on criteria such as the number of agreed reviews, days to completion, and the reviewer rating.
  2. The statistics are provided to the Senior Editors of the SCJ, and they are asked to rank their top 2 – 3 reviewers in order of preference.
  3. The Editor reorders the list based on the rankings of the Senior Editors. If there is a clear leader, that individual is chosen as the award winner. 
  4. In the event of a close decision, the statistical analysis may be assessed from the previous year. If two reviewers remain close, an assessment of the year before that may be necessary, and so until a winner is identified. 
#everyonestronger #everyonestronger

has been added to your shopping cart!

Continue Shopping Checkout Now