State/Provincial Director of the Year Award

This Award is given to a state or provincial director who has accumulated the most points during the year from April 1 to March 31, using the Evaluation Criteria format.

Congratulations to the 2023 Winner!

Joni Boyd, PhD, CSCS,*D, NSCA-CPT,*D

Joni Boyd is a Professor of Exercise Science and the Advisor to the Coaching Minor at Winthrop University in Rock Hill, SC. She served as the National Strength & Conditioning Association State Director for South Carolina from 2018-2023 and currently serves as a member of the Educator Special Interest Group and CSCS Exam Prep Live lead facilitator. Joni has multiple certifications and credentials within the exercise science and nutrition fields, and she is an author, educator, and presenter. Currently, she serves as the Lead Director of Bingocize-SC, a grant-funded mission to improve the health and quality of life of South Carolina’s most vulnerable population. Most importantly, she is wife to a football coach and mom to four mini athletes, authors, performers, and scientists. Joni is most happy when she is spending time with her family, especially when they are on the beach or at football games.

Download the Press Release

Past Award Recipients Includes:

2022 - Whitney D. Leyva-Camberos, MS, CSCS,*D, NSCA-CPT,*D, RSCC  
2021 - Julia Dianne Carol Olsen, MS, CSCS,*D, TSAC-F  Triplett and Olsen SPD of the Year
2020 - Vanessa L. Cazas-Moreno, PhD, CSCS,*D, USAWL1  
2019 - Timothy Suchomel, PhD, CSCS,*D, RSCC  Triplett and Suchomel
2018 - Joseph P. Lopez, CSCS  Haff and Lopez
2017 - Sean Collins, PhD, CSCS,*D  Haff and Collins
2016 - Andrew Shim, EdD, CSCS,*D  Haff and Shim
2015 - Michelle Rathke, MS, CSCS  Rathke and Fleck
2014 - Chad Kerksick, PhD, CSCS,*D, NSCA-CPT,*D  Fleck and Kerksick
2013 - Ryan Johnson, CSCS,*D  
2012 - Maria T. Mendizabal, NSCA-CPT,*D  
2011 - Lee Anthony Glass, MS Ed, CSCS 2010 - Paul Moore, MS, CSCS,*D, NSCA-CPT,*D
2009 - Heath Pierce, MEd, CSCS,*D, NSCA-CPT,*D 2008 - Scott J. Sahli, CSCS, NSCA-CPT
2007 - Karyn Gallivan, CSCS, NSCA-CPT 2006 - Paul Goodman, CSCS
2005 - Mark Nutting 2004 - Chat Williams
2003 - Kimberly A.B. Zaph, CSCS 2002 - Cory Warner
2001 - Christine Vega 2000 - Avery Faigenbaum
1999 - Patrick Mediate 1997 - Ollie Whaley
1996 - Boyd Peterson, Kim Ford, Ollie Whaley, and John Blievernicht 1995 - Dwight Daub, J. Henry Drought, John Kordich, Mike Lowe, and Richard Powell
1994 - Tom Cross, Doug Lentz, Tony Moreno, and Mike Lowe 1993 - John Kordick


Region 1: Doug Lentz

Region 2: Steve Plisk

Region 3: Gary Shankman

Region 4: Mike Lowe

Region 5: Dwight Daub


Region 1: Jeff Connors

Region 2: Edwin Jones

Region 3: Jesse Barksdale

Region 4: Tom Richardson

Region 5: Mark Reiff


Region 1: Gary Viles and John Waters

Region 2: Phil Emery

Region 3: Roger Finkemeier

Region 4: Paul Longo

Region 5: Mark Reiff


Region 1: Bob Cincotta

Region 2: Phil Emery and Bob Brosmer

Region 3: Open

Region 4: Ron Thomson

Region 5: Sam Varner and Dwight Daub


Region 1: Pat Ciccantelli

Region 2: Phil Emery and Allan Johnson

Region 3: Russ Ball

Region 4: Neil Wolkodoff

Region 5: Open


Region 1: Ray Moran

Region 2: Bob Brosmer

Region 3: Harley Dartt

Region 4: Rick Huegli

Region 5: Steve Schulz


Region 1: Wes Emmert

Region 2: Bruno Pauletto

Region 3: Russ Ball

Region 4: Neil Wolkodoff

Region 5: John Arce



#NSCAStrong #NSCAStrong

has been added to your shopping cart!

Continue Shopping Checkout Now